Family Ranidae - True Frogs

Number of Species in the World and in Canada
The family Ranidae represents true frogs and contains 560 species worldwide and 8 species in Canada. This family has 50 genera in the world, but only 1 genus, Rana, occurs in Canada.

Identifying Characteristics
These are large frogs that have a bony breastbone, dorsolateral folds, a distinct tympanum, and long legs with extensive webbing on the hind feet. They are excellent jumpers and typically live on the water's edge, entering it to mate, catch insects, or flee from predators.

These frogs are carnivorous, eating insects, spiders, and crustaceans. The larger species even eat small mammals, birds, and frogs.

Mating occurs in the spring, beginning with the males calling in chorus. Females lay up to 20,000 eggs which hatch within a month. Tadpoles metamorphose into froglets in 6 to 24 months, depending on the species.

Eight species in the genus Rana occur in Canada:
Bullfrog (Rana catesbeiana)
Green frog (Rana clamitans)
Pickerel frog (Rana palustris)
Northern leopard frog (Rana pipiens)
Mink frog (Rana septentrionalis)
Wood frog (Rana sylvatica)
Red-legged frog (Rana aurora)
Spotted frog (Rana pretiosa)