ORDER ANURA - Frogs and Toads

This order of amphibians includes the frogs and toads. Five families belonging to the order Anura occur in Canada: Ascaphidae, Pelobatidae, Bufonidae, Hylidae and Ranidae. These families of frogs and toads have characteristics which distinguish them from other families.

The five families of frogs and toads have different characteristics but show a similar body form:

compact body;
four legs;
hind legs have 5 digits and are stronger than the forelegs;
forelegs have 4 digits;
there is no tail;
large head;
lack of a distinct neck;
hump on the back;
lidded eyes;
paired small nostrils;
no claws on the toes;
thin moist skin;
teeth on upper jaw

Next page